NFF Dooley Chapter Names NCCU’s Totten Scholar-Athlete

Isaiah Totten
Isaiah Totten


June 7, 2020 1:00AM
Kyle Serba
Kyle Serba

RALEIGH, N.C. – North Carolina Central University running back Isaiah Totten has been announced as a University Scholar-Athlete Award recipient by The National Football Foundation’s Bill Dooley Chapter on Monday.

A native of Apex, North Carolina, Totten is one of just eight student-athletes in NCCU history to top the 2,000-yard barrier on the ground as the three-time All-MEAC selection has compiled 2,122 career rushing yards with 15 touchdowns. He graduated in May with a degree in mass communication, earning a 3.57 cumulative grade point average.

“I would first like to acknowledge the National Football Foundation’s Bill Dooley Chapter,” said NCCU football head coach Trei Oliver. “They are a first-class family and foundation. We are blessed to have organizations like them that pour scholarships back into our local communities.

“I am extremely excited that Isaiah has been selected for this award, as he is most deserving,” Oliver added. “He is not only a great player, he is an outstanding student and is active in the community. He is the type of player that any coach would love to have in their program.”

Joining Totten in earning the distinction this year are Fernando Frye (East Carolina), Trenton Gill (N.C. State), Quentin Harris (Duke), and Nick Polino (North Carolina).

Frye, an offensive guard from Erie, Pa., started the past two seasons for the Pirates and helped East Carolina rank among the nation’s top 25 in both passing yards and fewest sacks allowed per game. He graduated in December of 2019 with a degree in criminal justice.

Gill, a punter from Hillsborough, N.C., set the Wolfpack single-season record for punting average with an ACC-leading mark of 47.6 yards per boot in 2019. A third team All-ACC selection last fall, he graduated in 2020 with a degree in biological sciences.

Harris, a quarterback from Wilton, Conn., started all 12 games for the Blue Devils in 2019 and passed for 2,078 yards and 16 touchdowns while rushing for 510 yards and seven additional scores. A two-time Academic All-ACC selection, he graduated in 2019 after majoring in public policy studies, minoring in economics and earning a certificate in innovation and entrepreneurship.

Polino, an offensive lineman from Buford, Ga., played in 38 career games with 17 starting assignments for the Tar Heels and helped North Carolina to a 55-13 win over Temple in the Military Bowl presented by Northrop Grumman this past season. An Academic All-ACC honoree in 2018, he graduated in 2019 with a degree in economics.

NFF Dooley Chapter – University Scholar-Athlete Award recipients

2020: Fernando Frye, East Carolina University; Trenton Gill, N.C. State University; Quentin Harris, Duke University; Nick Polino, University of North Carolina; Isaiah Totten, North Carolina Central University 2019: Zach Goins, University of North Carolina; Wilhelm Heinsen, North Carolina Central University; Ben Humphreys, Duke University; Alex Turner, East Carolina University; Joe Sculthorpe, N.C. State University

2018: Gabe Brandner, Duke University; A. J. Cole, III, N.C. State University; Nicholas Leverett, North Carolina Central University; Bentley Spain, University of North Carolina; Austin Teague, East Carolina University

2017: Garrett Bradbury, N.C. State University; DeVon Edwards, Duke University; Worth Gregory, East Carolina University; Joseph Mangili, University of North Carolina; Nathaniel Tilque, North Carolina Central University; A.J. Wolf, Duke University

2016: J.T. Boyd, East Carolina University; Jarrod James, University of North Carolina; Carl Jones, Jr., North Carolina Central University; Ross Martin, Duke University; Joe Thuney, N.C. State University

2015: Quinn Billerman, North Carolina Central University; Warren Harvey, East Carolina University; David Helton, Duke University; Ryan Mangum, University of North Carolina; Tyler Purvis, N.C. State University

2014: Josh Broach, University of North Carolina; Zach Gentry, N.C. State University; Damon Magazu, East Carolina University; Sayyid Muhammad, North Carolina Central University; Perry Simmons, Duke University

2013: Joseph Hutchinson, North Carolina Central University; Pete Mangum, University of North Carolina

Leonard Paulk, East Carolina University; Sean Renfree, Duke University; Asa Watson, N.C. State University

2012: Michael Barbour, East Carolina University; Curtis Byrd, University of North Carolina; Matt Daniels, Duke University; Brandon Outlaw, North Carolina Central University; Mikel Overgaard, N.C. State University

2011: Justin Campbell, North Carolina Central University; Michael Ingersoll, University of North Carolina; Mike Maurer, N.C. State University; Matt Milner, East Carolina University; Bryan Morgan, Duke University

2010: Sean Allen, East Carolina University; Andy Barbee, N.C. State University; Lowell Dyer, University of North Carolina; Brett Huffman, Duke University; Vinny Rey, Duke University; Will Scott, North Carolina Central University

2009: Terrence Brown, University of North Carolina; Meares Green, N.C. State University; Eric Smalls, North Carolina Central University; Ryan Wood, Duke University

2008: Patrick Bailey, Duke University; Ben Johnson, University of North Carolina; Brandon Gilbert, North Carolina Central University; Luke Lathan, N.C. State University

2007: Robert Duncan, North Carolina Central University; William Lee, N.C. State University; Patrick Marsh, University of North Carolina; Eli Nichols, Duke University

2006: Brendan Dewan, Duke University; Jason Jowers, North Carolina Central University; Justin Phillips, University of North Carolina; John Ritcher, N.C. State University

2005: Giuseppe Aguano, Duke University; Jason Brown, University of North Carolina; Richard Gray, North Carolina Central University; Jed Paulsen, N.C. State University

2004: Chris Douglas, Duke University; Adam Kiker, N.C. State University; Brandon Russell, University of North Carolina; Jonathan Sherrill, North Carolina Central University

2003: Ronald Brewer, University of North Carolina; Lawrence Fuller, North Carolina Central University; Jaymon Small, Duke University; J.J. Washington, N.C. State University

2002: Ben Erdelijac, Duke University; Lawrence Fuller, North Carolina Central University; Derek Green, N.C. State University; Jeff Reed, University of North Carolina

2001: Sakwana Dickens, North Carolina Central University; Louis Marchetti, University of North Carolina; Spencer Romine, Duke University; Clayton White, N.C. State University

2000: Sims Lenhardt, Duke University; Allen Mogridge, University of North Carolina; Arian Gibson, North Carolina Central University; Scott Earwood, North Carolina State University

1999: Ansel Brown, North Carolina Central University; Danny Deskevich, N.C. State University; Ebenezer Ekuban, University of North Carolina; Lennie Friedman, Duke University

1998: Ansel Brown, North Carolina Central University; Brad Collins, N.C. State University; Greg Ellis, University of North Carolina; Jeff Hodrick, Duke University

1997: Kerry Harbor, North Carolina Central University; Freddie Jones, University of North Carolina; Charles London, Duke University; Marc Primanti, N.C. State University

About the NFF Bill Dooley Chapter

On August 23, 1995, Bill Dooley, one of the winningest coaches in the Atlantic Coast Conference history, invited athletic directors, coaches and representatives from the University of North Carolina, Duke University, N.C. Central University and North Carolina State University to join him and N.C. Governor Jim Hunt at the State Capitol Old Senate Chambers. It was at that meeting the universities pledged their support to the newly formed NFFCHOF Chapter and its mission. In 2012, East Carolina University joined the Chapter and, in 2014, the NFFCHOF Board of Directors unanimously voted to name the chapter after its founder.

advertise here